22 EU countries signed an agreement on the development of the blockchain

22 member States of the EU, signed a Declaration on establishing the European partnership for the development of the scope of technology of the blockchain, announced the press service of the European Commission.

«In order to take advantage of blockchain technologies and to avoid a fragmented approach, the participants in that Declaration agree to cooperate in the establishment of the European partnerships for the development of the blockchain infrastructure, which will help improve credible and user-oriented digital services in the single market», – stated in the Declaration.

The project participants will exchange experience and knowledge in technical and regulatory field, as well as to develop a consistent EU-wide application using the technology of distributed registries for the public and private sectors.

Under the terms of the Declaration, the first international projects should be established by the end of 2019.

In turn, speaking at Digital Day 2018 in Brussels, Vice-President of the Commission Andrus Ansip urged EU countries to think about the future of the European Union, digital future.

«I urge the EU to take on obligations in relation to the technology of the blockchain, which, like artificial intelligence, is among the priority areas of use for the whole of Europe,» said Ansip.

He also stated the importance of investment in the development of the blockchain, as this technology «out of the laboratory to everyday life».

«Digital technologies can help save lives, to be useful in healthcare, and to increase the effectiveness of each process in every sphere», – concluded the Vice-President of the European Commission.

Добавить комментарий